Congressman Farenthold Urges President Trump to Declare a Major Disaster for Texas

CORPUS CHRISTI, TX – Congressman Blake Farenthold (R-Texas) along with Rep. Brian Babin, Rep. Henry Cuellar, Rep. Filemon Vela, Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson, Rep. Vicente Gonzales, Rep. Joaquin Castro, Rep. Marc Veasey, Rep. Gene Green, Rep. Kevin Brady, Rep. Lamar Smith, Rep. Michael McCaul, Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee, Rep. Beto O’Rourke, Rep. Michael Burgess, Rep. Lloyd Doggett, and Rep. Pete Olson sent a letter to President Donald Trump Friday urging him to declare a major disaster in Texas due to Hurricane Harvey.

“This powerful hurricane has the potential to cause widespread damage in the state of Texas,” said Congressman Farenthold. “A Presidential Disaster Declaration will help with storm cleanup and disaster relief, which will be much needed.”

Governor Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster on August 23, 2017 for 30 Texas counties. The governor also requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration for Bee, Goliad, Kleberg, Nueces, San Patricio and Refugio counties.